Top 5 Summer Makeup Must-haves

I know it’s been a super long time since I’ve posted anything- I was busy with business school and vacations and working hard and summer is my FAVORITE time of year, so I don’t want to spend it inside writing. That said, I wanted to introduce you to my current Top 5 Summer Makeup Must-haves! Because SUMMER IS THE BEST! And it’s hard to find makeup that doesn’t melt!

We recently took a “active” vacation trip to Utah, where we battled scorching heat, blasting wind, dirt, grime, sweat (so much sweat), and dust; and in the process, I wanted to look pretty! So these top 5 makeup picks are actually tested and true! Although Utah was a dry climate, I also live in Michigan, which is so humid this time of year, and I wear just about the same makeup! I’m telling you- this stuff works!

#1 BareMinerals Original Foundation in Fair Ivory 02IMG_3398.JPG

This foundation is the bomb in the summer for many reasons. It has SPF 15- which is so cool for a powder foundation, it gives a glow that many powders don’t, it keeps oils from accumulating on my t-zone (nose and forehead), and it feels like NOTHING, which is all I ever want to feel with makeup. The price tag is higher ($28.50), but this foundation lasts me a year! You only need a teeny bit for a moderate amount of coverage. Of course, if you want more coverage, you’ll use more, but even then, I don’t think you could use it up very quickly.

A tip when purchasing this foundation is to go to Ulta or Sephora and have them color match you. It’s the best way to get your perfect shade. I’d also recommend getting a nice brush to apply it. I currently use an elf powder brush, which is cheap and great! (I have always bought cheap makeup brushes and I feel they always work great. You’re not missing much by saving on those.) Another thing to note when using powder foundation is to always use a primer first so the powder has something to stick to- my current favorite primer is #3, keep reading!

#2 NYX Micro Brow Pencil in Ash Brown

IMG_3399.JPG

Please excuse my scuffed up knuckle- I scraped it playing ultimate frisbee… Anyway- this pencil is the easiest, fastest way to do your brows in the summer- the attached spoodle is awesome for combing them after applying the pencil and helping them to blend and look natural.

I do go through these a lot faster than any other makeup, but they’re only $9.99, and you can find good sales on NYX at drug/grocery stores. Most commonly, I’ll find NYX at buy one, get one 50% off. The color is also perfect for me- I’m a natural brunette (level 5-6 for you hair people), and my brows are about the same. I’ve read on many blogs that this pencil is exactly like Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz Pencil which has a much higher price tag of $21.

#3 Benefit The POREfessional Balm

IMG_3402

I just recently got this in my Sephora Play box, and I’m loving it for summer! It’s a pre-makeup primer (something you put on before foundation) that minimizes the look of pores and cancels out shine. I’m an oily gal, I’ll admit it. Not crazy oily, but somewhat oily- especially in the summer. All the other primers I have tend to be a bit too moisturizing. This one kills the oil in the summer.

I wore it every day during my Utah trip and it did amazing- even after putting sunscreen on top of it! It also has a very light, pleasant scent. There are two sizes of this product, but the full size is $31. That’s a little steep for me, but I use the smallest amount, so I could probably get away with buying the smaller size which is $12.

#4 Milani Baked Blush 03 Berry Amore

IMG_3403

This sucker is the perfect blush shade, with lots of pigment. And it was $7.49. And it will last me a year. So many good things! It’s also not shimmery, despite the gold streaks in the compact! LOVE IT! I will purchase this again!

#5 Aveda Uruku Color Gloss in Luna

IMG_3400

If you know me, you know I don’t wear lipstick unless I have to. This lip-stick-gloss-stick-thingy is more like a colored chapstick. The only thing that would make it better is to have some SPF in it. But you can’t have it all! I wear this lip-stick-gloss-chap-stick-thingy most days! It’s the perfect neutral that helps pull your makeup look together, but it doesn’t get everywhere like lipstick! Yay! This one runs $18, but again, it has lasted me a year!

It’s obvious that I do LOVE these five products from the wear and tear you can see on the packaging- give one a try and let me know how you like it! I love feedback! This summer, I encourage you to spend less time on makeup and more time with the ones you love, outside ❤

xoxo Melissa

img_3397.jpg

Leave a Reply

