Top 5 Favorites: Hair Products

So you might know that I’m a hairstylist. You might know that I am a fairly neat person. You might not know that I am a little bit of a product junkie. So instead of being a true hoarder and keeping all these goodies to myself, I thought it would be fun to share with you my top five favorite hair products and why!


I work at an Aveda Salon (Coiffeteria), so naturally, half of my chosen favorites are Aveda- but you should know that I’ve worked with many different brands of product and I always go back to Aveda. Not only do they smell amazing and work flawlessly, they also care about the environment. Aveda uses wind power to operate their factories, they are cruelty-free, and they strive to only use sustainable resources.

That said, I still like to try any and all products I can get my hands on so I have a well-rounded knowledge of all the hair product on the market. At my previous salon, I worked with Redken, Bumble and Bumble, Kerastase, Moroccan Oil, Malibu, Pureology, and many others. There’s still so many products I haven’t tried, but I do feel like my knowledge of hair product in general is vast.  

So without further ado: 


Aveda Shampure Dry Shampoo is my favorite favorite dry shampoo because it’s not an aerosol. It’s completely dry and gives the hair amazing texture for the second, third, fourth *ahem*, fifth day and beyond. I used to be a daily hair washer- don’t worry, I got over that. Now I use dry shampoo and spend hours less on my hair. This product also has a wonderful scent. It’s not too floral, but not too musky. 


The Chi Enviro 54 hairspray has a great hold and an amazing scent. If you’re looking for a hairspray that doesn’t feel like hairspray, don’t use this. It has a bit of a crunch when you use it.


This texture spray from Living Proof is da bomb. I got this one in my Sephora Play Box and I love the way is refreshes my second and third day hair. It adds texture and volume with a powerful spray and smells fruity and yummy. The scent also lasts a long time. I don’t even wear perfume when I use this one! 


Aveda created this dreamboat about a year ago and it’s been my go-to styling cream. I literally use it every time after I wash my hair. It moisturizes like a leave-in conditioner, controls static and frizz, and makes my hair feel silky smooth. Like a baby kitten.

When I was very blonde and had damaged ends, this product was the only thing that made it possible for me to comb through my hair. It protects the hair from heat, it’s lightweight, it’s made for all hair types, it smells citrusy and delish, and it’s made for air-drying or blow drying. Not many products hit all those markers for me. 


Aveda Volumizing Tonic is a classic root booster/volumizer with a great fruity scent. If they made this scent in a perfume form, I’d be wearing it all the time. It’s my all-time favorite scent from Aveda. I use this product in wet hair before blow-drying to amp up my volume. I spray it near the roots and mid-lengths of the hair near my crown (where I need the most volume). 


I hope you enjoyed my top 5 this month. What are your current favorites? Do you buy products based on scent? Like, comment, and subscribe! 

Xoxo, Melissa 

Leave a Reply

