Glowing Foundation

Foundation can be tricky. There are so many to choose from and when you finally do pick one, how are you supposed to put it on and look like you have smooth skin and didn’t just smear paint on your face with your fingers?

I had many makeup anxieties before I became a cosmetologist and in hair school, I had several amazing friends that let me practice and practice and practice on them every day. After all that practice, makeup wasn’t so scary anymore, and I had learned a lot simply from digging in and trying things. So…

Here’s a great way to apply foundation that will make your skin look like it’s glowing from the inside out!

1: Start with clean, dry skin. Use a moisturizer to seal in moisture. I used GLOWSTARTER Mega Illuminating Moisturizer by GLAMGLOW to give my skin an extra glow-ey look today.

2: I think I’ll need to do another post on how to choose the right foundation for your skin, but for this post, I’ll keep it pretty basic. I had three different types of foundation to choose from: A loose powder from BareMinerals, a tinted moisturizer from Aveda, and a liquid foundation from Maybelline. I chose the liquid foundation for today because my skin was feeling dry and I thought a powder would just bring out the dry flakes and a tinted moisturizer would be too light.

Screenshot 2017-04-05 17.24.56

3: Use a primer to prep all of your skin for foundation. Use your *clean* fingers to apply this. I love Smashbox Photofinish Primer for this.

4: Use a Beauty Blender sponge to apply your liquid foundation. Of course, with powder, I’d recommend using a brush for the application. I used Maybelline Fit Me Foundation for this step. Press the foundation in gently with your sponge. Try not to smear or drag the sponge, or it can create lines and discoloration.

Screenshot 2017-04-05 17.25.54

5: Use a concealer to brighten under the eyes and to prep the eyelids for shadow. Gently press the concealer in and blend it with a sponge or brush. Or your fingers would also work.

Screenshot 2017-04-05 17.27.12

6: Wait 5 minutes for the foundation to dry. I usually use this time to blow-dry my hair or prep it for styling.

7: Use a bronzer (I love Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer) under your cheekbones. Apply this with an angled powder brush (I use ELF brushes). Do not go down past where your eye and cheekbone line up. Apply the bronzer to your hairline and jawbone to give a sun kissed look.

Screenshot 2017-04-05 17.27.51

8: Use blush to “polish” the apples of your cheeks (you can find these by smiling) and sweep it up slightly towards your hairline (but don’t overdo it). I like Wet N Wild ColorIcon Blush.

Screenshot 2017-04-05 17.29.13

9: Use a highlighter to brighten directly on your cheekbones and on your cupid’s bow (above your upper lip), on the tip of your nose, and lightly on the center of your forehead. I love Aveda Seychelles Sands Highlighter.

Screenshot 2017-04-05 17.30.39

10: Blend your cheek/cheekbone color with a large, clean powder brush.

Screenshot 2017-04-05 17.31.05

11: Set your foundation with a translucent (clear) setting powder, like Aveda’s Mineral Loose Powder. Tap a small amount of the powder into the cap and swirl your powder brush into it. Tap any excess powder back into the cap so your brush is lightly coated. Dust the powder over your entire face. After that, dip a sponge into the powder and press it into your concealer under and on your eyes for maximum stay power.

Screenshot 2017-04-05 17.34.09

12: Brush on a little more highlighter (the setting powder tends to dull it a touch), and your face is ready for the day! Just add eyes and lips to seal the deal!

Screenshot 2017-04-05 17.34.28

Questions? Comments? Was this helpful? I’d LOVE to hear from you!

Until next time- xoxo Melissa Looman Beauty

Leave a Reply

